South African Post Office Holidays – 2017

List of South Africa Post Office holidays for the year 2017.

South African Post Office Holidays – 2017

No Month Date Week Day Holiday
1 January 2 Monday New Year’s Day (Observed)
2 March 21 Tuesday Human Rights Day
3 April 14 Friday Good Friday
4 April 17 Monday Family Day
5 April 27 Thursday Freedom Day
6 May 1 Monday Labor Day
7 June 16 Friday Youth Day
8 August 9 Wednesday National Women’s Day
9 September 25 Monday Heritage Day (Observed)
10 December 16 Saturday Day of Reconciliation
11 December 25 Monday Christmas
12 December 26 Tuesday Day of Goodwill
Some post offices and Postpoints are open later than normal business hours and some even on public holidays, making account payments easier.
South African Post Office (SAPO) open from 8:30am to 4:30pm from Monday to Friday, and 9:00am to 12:00 pm on Saturdays.
The Public Holidays Act (Act No 36 of 1994 [PDF]) determines whenever any public holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday following on it shall be a public holiday.