Hong Kong Post Office Holidays 2017

List of Hong Kong Post Office holidays for the year 2017. Also check the working hours of the Hong Kong Post office.

Hong Kong Post Office Holidays – 2017

No Month Date Week Day Name of Festival
1 January 2 Monday New Year’s Day (Observed)
2 January 28 Saturday Lunar New Year’s Day
3 January 30 Monday The third day of Lunar New Year
4 January 31 Tuesday The fourth day of Lunar New Year
5 April 4 Tuesday Ching Ming Festival
6 April 14 Friday Good Friday
7 April 15 Saturday The Day Following Good Friday
8 April 17 Monday Easter Monday
9 May 1 Monday Labor Day
10 May 3 Wednesday The Birthday of the Buddha
11 May 30 Tuesday Tuen Ng Festival
12 July 1 Saturday Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day
13 October 2 Monday The day following National Day
14 October 5 Thursday The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival
15 October 28 Saturday Chung Yeung Festival
16 December 25 Monday Christmas
17 December 26 Tuesday The first weekday after Christmas

The business hours of the General Post Office and Airport Post Office on Sundays and Public Holidays are as follows:

Post Office Business Hours on Sundays Business Hours on Public Holidays
General Post Office 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 pm (Postshop will be closed) 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 pm (Postshop will be closed)
Airport Post Office 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 pm 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 pm

Note :

  • Except General Post Office and Airport Post Office, all other post offices will be closed on Sundays and Public Holidays.
  • “As both the Labor Day and the Chung Yeung Festival in 2017 fall on a Sunday, the day following them is designated as a general holiday in substitution; and as Christmas Day in 2017 falls on a Sunday, the second weekday after Christmas Day is designated as a general holiday in substitution,” said a Government spokesman.
  • Except General Post Office and Airport Post Office, all other post offices will be closed on Sundays and Public Holidays.
  • All mails posted on Sundays and Public Holidays would be treated as being posted before the latest time of posting on the following working day.
  • For inquiry, please call the Hongkong Post General Inquiry Hotline on 2921 2222.